Annex A: eligibility for funding

The residency eligibility section determines how eligibility to be ESFA funded can depend upon citizenship within the European Union (EU) or the European Economic Area (EEA). This annex details which countries will meet the residency requirements detailed in paragraph 36.

Countries or areas where residency establishes eligibility for our funding

- a) Member states of the EU. You can access a list of member states on the EU website. https://europa.eu/european-union/about-eu/countries_en
- **b)** Other territories categorised as being within the EU. Other territories are categorised as being within the EU for the purposes of the fees regulations. These are:

Cyprus: any Cypriot national living on any part of the island qualifies for EU residency and is considered an EU national

Finland: includes the Aland Islands France: the French Overseas Department (DOMS) (Guadeloupe, Martinique, French Guiana (Guyana), Reunion and Saint-Pierre et Miquelon) is part of metropolitan

France and is part of the EU

Germany: includes the former German Democratic Republic and the tax-free port of Heligoland

Portugal: Madeira and the Azores are part of the EU; Macau is not

Spain: the Balearic Islands, the Canary Islands, Ceuta and Melilla are part of the EU

United Kingdom: Gibraltar is part of the territory of the EU

To note: The Channel Islands and Isle of Man are part of the United Kingdom and Islands but not part of the EU.

Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican are not part of the EU.

- c) EEA and eligible overseas dependent territories. For funding eligibility purposes, this is defined as all member states of the EU and Iceland, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Norway and all the eligible British overseas territories and EU overseas territories listed in paragraph d) below. 59 Although Switzerland is not part of the formally recognised EEA, its nationals are eligible under various international treaties signed by the UK and Swiss governments.
- **d)** Eligible overseas territories of other British and EU member states. Learners who are nationals of certain British Overseas Territories and of certain European overseas territories are eligible for funding, depending on the three year rule on residence in the EEA. These are as follows:
 - Anguilla Bermuda
 - British Antarctic Territory
 - British Indian Ocean Territory
 - British Virgin Islands
 - Cayman Islands
 - Falkland Islands Henderson Island Montserrat
 - Pitcairn, Ducie and Oeno Islands
 - South Georgia and the South Sandwich Isles

- St Helena and its dependencies
- Turks and Caicos Islands Greenland and Faroe Isles
- Antilles (Bonaire, Curacao, Saba, St Eustatius and St Maarten) Aruba
- New Caledonia and its dependencies French Polynesia
- Saint Barthélemy
- The Territory of Wallis and Futuna Islands Mayotte
- French Southern and Antarctic Territories